The blog post that will change your life

This morning, while walking to work, I was almost destroyed by an oblivious bicyclist. And while I craftily sidestepped out of the way to avoid a bi-pedal end to my bipedal life, I couldn’t help but think about what led to that moment.

Had I left my apartment a second sooner, would I have been hit? Perhaps if I had not pushed snooze this morning, I may have been run over. What would my fate have been if I had chosen cereal over yogurt? Or if I had chosen khaki socks over those black socks that I bought a size too damn small and now take forever to put on?

What if that bicyclist had not pressed snooze this morning? What if he had never been offered that job and never moved to Madison? What if his pet hamster had suddenly and tragically passed away on his seventh birthday, therefore preventing the moment that his father taught him how to ride a bike in the first place?

The point I’m trying to make is that every single moment in life is a result of the millions of events that preceded it. You reading this blog? The result of everything that led to the moment that you learned how to read, gained access to the internet and met the author.

You chose one school over countless others. There was that sport in high school that you decided not to try out for. Those decisions impacted and altered nearly every situation you encountered today.

But you could never have predicted that years ago when you learned how to read, that it would some day lead to your encounter with this blog post. That’s just not something you could have imagined.

Much like I never could have predicted that pressing snooze this morning almost resulted in my head smashing against a sprocket. And that’s just something that you have to deal with.

The fact of the matter is, you can’t predict everything and you cannot control everything either. So just go ahead and don’t worry about it. The best you can hope for is to notice that bicycle at the last second and jump out of the way.

And don’t worry about the fact that stopping to avoid a speeding bicyclist will completely alter the rest of your life.

Random Fact: In 1960, Russian canine, Strelka, was the first dog to orbit the Earth and return safely. She later gave birth to six puppies, one of which was given to President Kennedy.

Leave a Reply

